Recognizing Exceptional Educators

The Seventh Delaware STEM Educator Awards

STEM educators, advocates, and leaders gathered together on November 4, 2021, to recognize the most innovative and dedicated STEM educators working in The First State today through the Seventh Delaware STEM Educator Awards. The Delaware STEM Council and the Delaware Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education (DFSME) hosted the ceremony in a hybrid format from Buena Vista Country Estate in New Castle. Ashland is proud to continue our sponsorship of these special awards and we congratulate all of the nominees and winners.

All first place award winners in each category receive an unrestricted cash prize of $6,000, as well as free access to all parks in the Delaware State Park system.


1st Place Middle School Certified STEM Educator Award Winner

GAIL MORRIS | Gauger-Cobbs Middle School

Morris is a Computer Science and Business Education Teacher at Gauger-Cobbs Middle School and the 2019-2020 Gauger-Cobbs Middle School Teacher of the Year.



1st Place High School Certified STEM Educator Award Winners (Tie)

MELISSA BLAIR TRACEY | Odyssey Charter School

Tracey is a Social Studies Teacher and Model UN and Youth in Government Adviser.

DANIEL RICE & PETER BURNHAM | Delmar Senior High School

Rice is a Science teacher and Burnham is a Manufacturing and Engineering Technology teacher.


award-teal_icon_RGB-278.png 1st Place Community Educator Award Winner


Means is the founder of the Wilmington Urban STEM Initiative and a medical diagnostics major at University of Delaware. She is awarded for her initiative to educate elementary school students about 3D printing technology. Ashland is also working with “the STEM Queen” to sponsor STEM-related programs for middle school girls.
award-green_icon_RGB.png Armbrecht Award Winner

TONYEA MEAD | Delaware Department of Education

Mead is a Science Education Associate at Delaware Department of Education.
award-blue_icon_RGB.png Jon Manon STEAM Team Award Winner


This group of Math and Science educators are from Appoquinimink High School.


Ashland will continue our support of STEM as the title sponsor for the Eighth Delaware STEM Educator Awards ceremony slated for fall of 2022. The application for the 2022 Awards is now available online.




Read More >

CTE/STEM to Share Pathways and Youth Opportunity at the 7th Annual Delaware Pathways Virtual Conference
Dec 7 - 8, 2021
10 a.m. to Noon on both days


STEM Educators Network
December 21 • 5 p.m.
STEM Educators Network offers the 4th in the series.
Join us to find out more about Face-to-Face (F2F).
Please register in advance for this virtual meeting.